Coconut-Curry Chicken Soup

A week or two ago, I was perusing the Cooking Light website and stumbled upon a recipe for Coconut-Curry Chicken Soup. I decided to add it to my Pinterest “Recipes To Try” board, and within minutes, over a dozen people had repinned the picture!

oh-3322p243-coconut-chicken-soup-l

[ source ]

Apparently I was not the only one who found the recipe enticing. The reviews were also glowing. Out of 77 reviews, 71 people had given the dish 5 out of 5 stars. Wowza! This quickly moved to the top of my Recipes To Try queue!

Coconut-Curry Chicken Soup

This recipe does involve a fairly large quantity of ingredients, but once everything is ready to go, the soup comes together rather quickly. I had to do a bit of hunting for the light coconut milk, as my grocery store was sold out this weekend. The only change to the ingredients that I made was to use minced red onion in place of shallots.

P1070488

A delicious combination of spices! I only used a tiny pinch of turmeric instead of a full 1/2 teaspoon since I am not a fan. I use McCormick’s curry powder and am happy with the quality (it smells glorious and adds wonderful flavor), though I don’t have much life experience testing other brands. Red curry paste was an easy find in my grocer’s international aisle.

P1070490

"She put the lime in the coconut, she drank ’em both up."

Actually I added coconut milk to the broth mixture, and fresh lime juice was added as the final ingredient to the dish.

P1070491

Getting’ there!

P1070493

This picture most certainly does not do justice to this incredible soup!

Recently, Bev made this comment about a (different) soup recipe that she tried.. which I would apply to THIS soup recipe!

“Um, I took one bite and had to put on a wet suit so that I could snorkel in the pot for the next 5 hours.” BevCooks

P1070495

The husband has maintained for years that he will eat anything as long as it doesn’t contain curry. This past weekend, when planning the weekly meals, I summoned him into the room (me: “come look at this recipe!” – busy huz: “does it have curry?” [sarcasm] – me: [hesitantly] ….yes…), and after brief inspection, he agreed that the recipe sounded like it was worth a try. And oh, was it!

Shortly after tasting the dish, the huz was raving and told me it deserves a 10 out of 10 rating. I concur.

This was most definitely restaurant quality, The broth is mildly spicy, creamy, and complex, while the shreds of chicken, noodles, and snow peas added texture. Plus all the green ingredients – spinach, scallions, snow peas – add loads of veggie nutrition.

P1070496

I couldn’t get enough of this Thai-inspired soup and can’t wait to make it again. Plus it only has 314 calories per two cup serving.

My rating: 10/10

Recipe from Cooking Light.

NoteCurrently listening to: Let Go – Frou Frou.

11 thoughts on “Coconut-Curry Chicken Soup

  1. Pingback: Veggie Face Plant « Meg.Goes.Nom.Nom.

  2. Pingback: Shrimp Cobb Salad « Meg.Goes.Nom.Nom.

  3. Pingback: Rich Chicken Soup + Chicken Soup Recipe Round-Up « Meg.Goes.Nom.Nom.

  4. Pingback: Favorite Entrée Recipes of 2012–Part I « Meg.Goes.Nom.Nom.

  5. Pingback: Dinner Meal Plan for January 5-11 | Meg Goes Nom Nom

  6. Pingback: Dinner Meal Plan for January 12-18 | Meg Goes Nom Nom

  7. Pingback: What I’ve Been Nomming Lately–April 19, 2015 Edition | Meg Goes Nom Nom

Leave a comment