Wild Rice with Dried Apricots & Pistachios

This weekend I was digging for recipes containing pistachios so that I can make a dent in my large stash. I love ‘em! I decided to try a recipe from EatingWell, found here. Rather than spend 50 minutes of my evening babysitting wild rice on my stovetop, I instead used a pack of pre-cooked wild rice from Trader Joe’s that was ready after two minutes in the microwave – great product!

In the mix:

  • red onion
  • red bell pepper
  • garlic
  • cumin
  • dried apricots
  • orange juice
  • scallions
  • chopped pistachios (sprinkled on top)

P1030796

I served the wild rice dish with oven roasted sweet potatoes, and a Morningstar Tomato Basil burger topped with honey mustard and banana peppers for a tasty vegetarian dinner.

I wasn’t wild about the orange juice in the rice (har har…”wild”). It just didn’t seem to belong in there. One of the reasons I like wild rice so much is that it’s wonderfully nutty and earthy when well-dosed with salt, but the sweet orange juice seemed to tame that factor. I think the dish would have been far better without the orange juice!

P1030797

Oh, and as I was getting ready to toss my junk mail (which, by the way, is the bane of my existence) in the recycling bin, I came across this little GEM in my mailbox:

P1030800

Apparently the world is ending. Which will entail three-headed cheetahs with angel wings and salmon-catching grizzly bears. Shit!

Man, there are no words for ish like this. I really could say a lot of stuff but I will refrain because I don’t want to offend the religious folk. Holy FSM. I’m all for freedom of religion, and what not, but not once you try to start pushing it on me. Back off. Thanks.

IRONICALLY enough, the song Aenima by Tool just started playing in my iTunes. Really. That is ironic. Excellent song. Maynard from Tool is my object of worship.

On a side note, I am going to a Tool laser show this weekend. CHALLAH.

Note Currently listening: Ænima – Tool.

    

Leave a comment