Spaghetti Pie

Spaghetti Pie! I have been craving spaghetti for ages, but it never really seems to fit into my calorie-mindful lifestyle. Until I found this recipe!

This is another recipe from my Comfort Food Diet cookbook. (Click here for the recipe.) First I made a meat sauce with lean ground sirloin, onion, green pepper, diced tomatoes, tomato paste and seasonings.

P1030854

Next I made layers.

1. Cooked Spaghetti Angel Hair pasta mixed with egg whites, parmesan cheese, and butter.

2. Fat-free cottage cheese.

3. Meat sauce.

4. Mozzarella cheese (added the last 5 minutes of baking).

P1030855P1030857

P1030858P1030859

Sooooo good! I love this recipe. One-sixth of the above dish is the serving size, with 348 calories per serving. I had one serving and found it to be a very generous and filling serving size.

P1030860

P1030862

I served the spaghetti pie with my favorite salad, consisting of a mix of baby greens and herbs, spinach, and romaine, with sliced pear and avocado, gorgonzola, and a red wine vinaigrette dressing.

P1030864

Best dinner ever!!

Spaghetti Pie Rating: 9.5/10

Another winner!

Ooh.. and I don’t often blog about my lunches, but today’s was so good!

  • Lentil Soup (Tabachnik brand) [140 cal]
  • Sabra Hummus [70 cal]
  • Garlic Pita Chips [140 cal]
  • Morningstar Asian Veggie Burger [100 cal] + cheese [50 cal] + banana pepps and honey mustard [20 cal]
  • Clementine [35 cal]
  • Donut from Washtenaw Dairy [splurge calories Smile ]

P1030850

 

And as always, click below to check out my daily 30 Day Shred updates.

P1030825

NoteCurrently listening to watching: The Oscars!!

Rooting for my love, NatPort in Black Swan. (And Inception with my other love, Leo!)