Tangy Pulled Pork Sandwiches with Baked Sweet Onion Rings

Last night I tried two recipes out of my new Taste of Home Comfort Food Diet cookbook. Taste of Home recipes rarely disappoint, and I love their ‘Healthy Cooking’ magazine too, and so, this cookbook seemed perfect for me. It’s also a steal on Amazon right now too.

P1030826

Tangy Pulled Pork Sandwiches

Recipe from Taste of Home

To make pulled pork in a slow-cooker, I mixed 1 lb of pork loin (the recipe calls for "pork tenderloin” but I was able to find a much smaller and less expensive cut of “pork loin,” so I used that instead), with the ingredients below, and let it cook on low for 4-5 hours. After about 4.5 hours, the huz shredded the pork, and we mixed it back in the sauce. If you use 1 lb of pork, it would make four big sandwiches that are about 400 calories each, including the bun.

P1030843

How good does this look!?! It was!! I would suggest using slightly less vinegar than specified, as it was a tad overpowering. I also doubled the brown sugar to make it a bit sweeter. These sandwiches were amazing and I’ll definitely be making them again.

Pulled Pork Rating: 9.5/10

P1030846

Baked Sweet Onion Rings

Recipe from Taste of Home

I also made some baked onion rings using some monster-size, sliced sweet onions dipped in egg substitute, breadcrumbs, and seasonings (I added dashes of cajun seasoning, cayenne pepper, and garlic powder). These were good, but I found myself ripping off the bland bread crumb crust and just eating the soft onion instead. One serving is equal to consuming 1/4 of an onion worth of rings, which weighs in at 66 calories per serving. Not bad at all.

Onion Ring Rating: 6/10

P1030848

Pure comfort food. And guilt free. Need to make these sandwiches again!!!

NoteCurrently listening to: Your Eyes Open – Keane.

13 thoughts on “Tangy Pulled Pork Sandwiches with Baked Sweet Onion Rings

  1. Looks good! Another super easy (and super delicious) way of making pulled pork is cooking the pork roast in root beer in the slow cooker. Drain out the root beer, shred the pork and add in your fav BBQ sauce and voila- super moist and yummy pulled pork!

  2. Pingback: Pantry show and Tell « Meg.Goes.Nom.Nom.

  3. Pingback: My First Run! « Meg.Goes.Nom.Nom.

  4. Pingback: Successes and Fails and Lobster Butter Love « Meg.Goes.Nom.Nom.

  5. Pingback: Vegtastic meals « Meg.Goes.Nom.Nom.

  6. I found the recipe for pulled pork sandwiches. Need the approx. measurements for the ingredients please !! Thanks, MOM

  7. Pingback: Makeover Cheesy Beef & Potato Soup « Meg.Goes.Nom.Nom.

  8. Pingback: Top Dinner Recipes of 2011–Part I « Meg.Goes.Nom.Nom.

  9. Pingback: Simple Weeknight Dinner: Pulled Pork + Veggies « Meg.Goes.Nom.Nom.

  10. Pingback: Dinner Meal Plan for November 24-30 | Meg.Goes.Nom.Nom.

  11. Pingback: Dinner Meal Plan for December 1-7 | Meg.Goes.Nom.Nom.

  12. Pingback: Favorite Recipes of 2015 | Meg Goes Nom Nom

Leave a comment